Philippine Basketball Association

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) was founded in 1975 and currently consists of twelve corporate-sponsored teams. It was the first basketball league in Asia and is currently the second longest operating basketball league after the National Basketball Association (NBA).

The PBA is extremely popular among sports enthusiasts in the island nation and is the most active league for basketball betting action among Filipinos. This page was created to inform our readers of the legal ways to bet on PBA games. We also offer our guidance and professional experience to assist you in finding a reputable and legally regulated online sportsbook to use.

Update: After a seven-month hiatus, the PBA is back, with the Philippine Cup set to tip off on October 11, 2020. Because of the coronavirus delay, the PBA will only be holding the Philippine Cup this year, with the 2020 Commissioner’s Cup and the 2020 Governors’ Cup both being canceled. The 2020 Philippine Cup will be contested in a “PBA bubble” at the Angeles University Foundation Gym (Angeles, Pampanga), and the San Miguel Beermen are the betting favorites to repeat as Philippine Cup champions.

Is It Legal To Bet On PBA Games Online?

Yes. Contrary to popular belief, there are no Philippine gambling laws restricting PH residents from accessing licensed offshore sportsbooks. While Filipino gamblers cannot wager on PBA action (or any other sports) with domestic operators over the Internet, it is safe and legal to use licensed offshore sportsbooks.

Top PBA Betting Sites For Filipinos

Our team of industry professionals has vetted the following sites for security features, reliability, fairness, and other factors that can affect the overall betting experience. The following sportsbooks hold valid government-issued licenses and current compliance records in their home countries.

Site NameBonus OfferPayout SpeedPHPlay Link
Online Sportsbooks
Betonline50% Max $1,00024-48 HoursPlay Now
Sports Betting50% Max $1,00048 HoursPlay Now

How To Find PBA Betting Lines

PBA betting lines can be found online with the Philippines friendly sportsbooks listed above. To find the betting lines, start at your book’s sports tab, go to the basketball section, and then navigate to the specific league you’re interested in wagering on.

There, you’ll find current betting lines for PBA games when the season is underway. Since the sportsbooks listed on this page are located outside the jurisdiction of the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR), PH residents can legally bet on games taking place in the Philippines (which is something you cannot do at domestic brick-and-mortar sportsbooks).

History Of The PBA

The Philippine Basketball Association formed after nine teams left the Manila Industrial and Commercial Athletic Association (MICAA). The MICAA was not happy with how the Basketball Association of the Philippines (BAP) was taking players for the national team without consulting team owners and coaches, and the PBA was born as a direct result of this soured relationship.

In 1975, the league’s first game was held at Araneta Coliseum between Mariwasa-Noritake and Concepcion Carrier. The PBA has been in continuous operation ever since.

2020 PBA Season

The 2020 PBA season started with the Philippine Cup on March 8, but it was suspended after just one game. Historically, this conference or tournament is the first leg of the PBA campaign and would run through approximately mid-June. However, due to COVID-related delays, the 2020 Philippine Cup is restarting in a “bubble” environment at the Angeles University Foundation Gym (Pampanga), with tip-off slated for October 11.

The starting dates of the Commissioner’s Cup and the Governors’ Cup are normally fluid, based on the conclusion of the Philippines Cup. Unfortunately, the 2020 Commissioner’s Cup and the 2020 Governors’ Cup have been canceled outright, with the PBA focusing only on completing the Philippine Cup leg of the season.

The following teams are scheduled to comprise the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup:

  • Alaska Aces – Alaska Milk Corporation
  • Barangay Ginebra San Miguel – Ginebra San Miguel, Inc.
  • Blackwater Bossing – Ever Bilena Cosmetics, Inc.
  • Magnolia Hotshots – San Miguel Pure Foods Company, Inc.
  • Meralco Bolts – Manila Electric Company
  • NLEX Road Warriors – Metro Pacific Investments Corporation
  • NorthPort Batang Pier – Sultan 900 Capital, Inc.
  • Phoenix Super LPG Fuel Masters – Phoenix Petroleum Philippines, Inc.
  • Rain or Shine Elasto Painters – Asian Coatings Philippines, Inc.
  • San Miguel Beermen – San Miguel Brewery, Inc.
  • Terra Firma Dyip – Terra Firma Realty Development Corporation
  • TNT Tropang Giga – Smart Communications

2021 PBA Betting Odds

Be sure to check back here for current PBA betting lines on the 2021 Philippine Cup, as the most reputable offshore Philippines sportsbooks have not yet posted odds for the 2021 season restart.

  • TBA

PBA Playoffs Explained

The PBA is different from other basketball leagues around the world in the fact that there are no season champions. Instead, there are what is known as conference champions, with each PBA season consisting of three conferences (or tournaments). If one team wins all three conferences in a single season, they are crowned the “Grand Slam” champions.

The three conferences of the PBA season are the Philippine Cup, the Commissioner’s Cup, and the Governors’ Cup.

PBA Philippine Cup

The Philippine Cup is considered the most locally prestigious conference (tournament) in the PBA, and it is the first leg of each season. The conference does not allow non-Filipino players to compete, which makes it a point of national pride. For local bettors, the Philippine Cup is the most popular part of the PBA, though international bettors favor the more globally relevant Commissioner’s Cup.

PBA Commissioner’s Cup

The Commissioner’s Cup is the second PBA conference of the year, and it allows foreign players with a maximum height limit of 6’10”. For sports bettors internationally, the Commissioner’s Cup is the most popular and competitive portion of the PBA season, as it features well-known athletes from around the world.

PBA Governors’ Cup

The Governors Cup is the third of the three PBA tournaments. This tournament allows each team to hire foreign players, just like the Commissioner’s Cup. The imported players in the Governors’ Cup have maximum height restrictions of 6’5″. The Governors’ Cup is the least prestigious conference in the PBA, though there is still fervent betting action.

Previous Philippine Cup Winners

  • 2000 – Alaska
  • 2001 – San Miguel
  • 2002 – Coca-Cola
  • 2003 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2004 – Barangay Ginebra
  • 2005 – Purefoods
  • 2006 – Barangay Ginebra
  • 2007 – Sta. Lucia
  • 2008 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2009 – Purefoods
  • 2010 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2011 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2012 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2013 – San Mig Super Coffee
  • 2014 – San Miguel
  • 2015 – San Miguel
  • 2016 – San Miguel
  • 2017 – San Miguel
  • 2018 – San Miguel
  • 2019 – San Miguel

Previous Commissioner’s Cup Winners

  • 2000 – San Miguel
  • 2001 – Red Bull
  • 2002 – Red Bull
  • 2003 – 2010 – (no tournament held)
  • 2011 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2012 – B-Meg
  • 2013 – Alaska
  • 2014 – San Mig Super Coffee
  • 2015 – Talk ‘N Text
  • 2016 – Rain or Shine
  • 2017 – San Miguel
  • 2018 – Barangay Ginebra
  • 2019 – San Miguel

Previous Governors’ Cup Winners

  • 2000 – San Miguel
  • 2001 – Sta. Lucia
  • 2002 – Purefoods
  • 2003–2010 – (no tournament held)             
  • 2011 – Petron Blaze
  • 2012 – Rain or Shine
  • 2013 – San Mig Super Coffee
  • 2014 – San Mig Super Coffee
  • 2015 – San Miguel
  • 2016 – Barangay Ginebra
  • 2017 – Barangay Ginebra
  • 2018 – Magnolia
  • 2019 – Barangay Ginebra

Additional Resources: